Skip to main content


The Food Ethics Council’s members work voluntarily and in a personal capacity. Their backgrounds include farming, food businesses and academia.

Jon Alexander (trustee)
Founder, New Citizenship Project

Dr Julian Baggini
Freelance writer and philosopher 

Helen Browning OBE 
Organic farmer; Director of the Soil Association

David Croft (trustee)
Global Sustainable Development Director, Diageo

Dr Nigel Dower
Honorary Senior Lecturer in Philosophy, Aberdeen University

Professor Elizabeth Dowler
Emeritus Professor of Food and Social Policy, Department of Sociology at the University of Warwick

Professor Ralph Early (trustee)
Professor of Food Industry, Harper Adams University

Cathryn Higgs
Food Policy Manager, Co-Operative Food.

Ruth Layton (trustee)
Technical Director, Food Animal Initiative (FAI), a founder member of Benchmark Holdings Plc.

Joanna Lewis (Chair)
Strategy and Policy Director, Soil Association Food for Life

Patrick Mulvany

Professor David Pink 
Emeritus Professor of Crop Improvement, Harper Adams University

Dr Kate Rawles
Outdoor Philosopher, Author and Activist

Pete Ritchie (trustee)
Director, Nourish Scotland; organic farmer

Geoff Tansey
Curator, Food Systems Academy

Patti Whaley (treasurer)
Vice-chair, ActionAid UK