Our Council Members

OUr Council Members

The Food Ethics Council’s members work voluntarily and in a personal capacity. Their backgrounds include farming, food businesses and academia.

Jon Alexander
Co-Founder, New Citizenship Project

Dr Julian Baggini (Trustee)
Freelance writer and philosopher

Chloe Donovan (Trustee)
Founder Hundred River Farm

Nigel Dower (Trustee)
Honorary Senior Lecturer in Philosophy, Aberdeen University

Professor Elizabeth Dowler
Emeritus Professor of Food and Social Policy, Department of Sociology at the University of Warwick

Ralph Early (Chair)
Independent Food Scientist and Food Ethicist

Cathryn Higgs
Head of Food Policy, Co-Operative Food

Professor Moya Kneafsey
Professor of Human Geography, Food and Local Development, the Centre for Agroecology, Water and Resilience at Coventry University

Ruth Layton

Joanna Lewis (Trustee)
Strategy and Policy Director, Soil Association

Patrick Mulvany

Pete Ritchie
Director of Nourish Scotland, and organic farmer

Dr Alexandra Sexton
Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow, Department of Geography, University of Sheffield

Albert Tucker (Trustee)
Independent consultant, advisor and social entrepreneur

Patti Whaley (Treasurer and Trustee)
Retired, Non-executive Director

Dee Woods
Co-founder Granville Community Kitchen, member GLA London Food Board


We are fortunate to have had an amazing array of Council members since we were founded, some of whom have since stepped down, but many of whom are still actively involved in issues relating to food ethics. Former Council members are listed here.